Remove Shared Folder from Synology File Station Management

Remove Shared Folder from Synology File Station Management is a bit wonky when attempting remove shares without deleting the data.  Shared data is a bit of a sensitive subject.  You never know when someone comes out of the woodwork to request that data “hey, I needed that data, panda jerk!”  With that said, it is probably best to use HyperBackup for storing data on some external drives.

What’s a share folder?

What’s Hyper Backup?

The Shared Folders are Backed Up!

Great!  You have reliable backup with a test restore in a lock box.  The next step for removing shares without deleting the data is a bit wonky because Synology DSM does not offer an easy way to remove shares without deleting the data inside them.  Performing these steps will place a lock on the shared folder you encrypted and remove the folder so it’s no longer visible from file station.  The data will return if you use “encryption” option under “shared folder” to mount.

Encrypting Data

Log into the Synology DiskStation Manager, select control panel,  Shared folder, select the folder you wish to remove (not delete its data) the share for, select edit, and click the “encryption” tab.

 

Remove Shared Folder from Synology File Station Management

 

You will encounter a feature to download filename.key for recovering the encrypted folder.  The other option is to simply remember the password.  Some people struggle with this task but I digress.  You must select “encryption” followed by “unmount” to complete the encryption process or for us, remove the network share.  Goofy?  Yes, what can I say?

 

Remove Shared Folder from Synology File Station Management

 

Remove Shared Folder from Synology File Station Management

 

The network Share folder is no available and no longer visible in “file station”

 

Remove Shared Folder from Synology File Station Management

Share Folders are Removed!  Why would I ever use the encryption feature?

Say like you had a retail shop on Main Street and you had a hat on display in the window.  For whatever reason, someone really wants that hat but can’t afford it.   Encrypting is like not only taking away the hat from the display,  but placing it on layaway in the back in storage with a combination lock on it.

 

Remove Shared Folder from Synology File Station Management Summary

Yes, this is not ideal.  This is a feature request for the Synology development team but there is nothing set in motion as of yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *